Transfusion (1990)
The Chico Hamilton Quintet

  1. Transfusion (Charles Lloyd)
  2. My Shining Hour (Harold Arlen)
  3. The Second Time Around (Jimmy Van Heusen/Sammy Cahn)
  4. Come Rain or Come Shine (Harold Arlen)
  5. Witchcraft (Cy Coleman/Carolyn Leigh)
  6. Homeward (Charles Lloyd)
  7. A Rose for Booker (Charles Lloyd)
  8. Vulture (Charles Lloyd)
  9. It Never Entered My Mind (Richard Rodgers/Lorenz Hart)
  10. Sun Yen Sen [sic: Freedom Traveler (Part II – Journey)] (Charles Lloyd)
  11. Speak Low (Kurt Weill/Ogden Nash)
  12. One for Joan (Charles Lloyd)
  13. C.L. Blues (Charles Lloyd)
  14. Stella by Starlight (Victor Young/Ned Washington)
  15. Tales (Charles Lloyd)
  16. Transfusion (Charles Lloyd)

Charles Lloyd – sax, flute
George Bohannon – trombone
Gabor Szabo – guitar
Albert Stinson – bass
Chico Hamilton – drums

Produced by Vil Vohler

Recorded early 1962 for radio broadcast at United Recording Studios, Hollywood, California.

1 to 16 issued on CD in 1990 as Studio West #102CD

First released in 1990 on CD, this recording is one of a series of recordings made for the “Navy Swings” radio program. Each studio-recorded title here is unusually brief, offering only the theme and often only one compact solo.

While the session allows much more room than usual for George Bohannon’s playing, only “Come Rain or Come Shine” and “Stella by Starlight” prominently feature Szabo.

Overall, Transfusion is a prime example of an excellent working band which had quickly established a first-rate book of tunes (Lloyd’s meaty originals sprinkled with several standards) and a clearly singular identity.

This above-average session, however, does not provide space enough for the five members of this aggregate to truly explore the intricacies of each tune in their own creative way (an asset of this group that is rarely discussed).