The Magic Music Of Far Away Places (1965)
Bert Kaempfert And His Orchestra

  1. Moon Over Naples (Spanish Eyes) (Bert Kaempfert/Charles Singleton/Eddie Snyder/Carl-Ulrich Blecher)
  2. On A Little Street in Singapore (Peter DeRose/Billy Hill)
  3. La Cumparsita (Gerardo Hernán Matos Rodríguez)
  4. Mambossa (Bert Kaempfert)
  5. The Japanese Farewell Song (Hosegawa Yoshida)
  6. Monte Carlo (Bert Kaempfert/Manfred Moch)
  7. Hava Nagila (Trad./Arr.: Bert Kaempfert)
  8. Star Dust (Hoagy Carmichael/Mitchell Parish)
  9. Autumn Leaves (Joseph Kosma/Jacques Charles Enoch/Jacques Prévert)
  10. Balkan Melody (Bert Kaempfert/Herbert Rehbein)
  11. Midnight In Moscow (Wassilli Pawlowitsch Solowjow-Sedoi)
  12. Swissy Missy (Swiss Polka) (Bert Kaempfert/Herbert Rehbein)
    Bonus Tracks
  13. Monte Carlo – Alternate Version (Bert Kaempfert/Manfred Moch)
  14. Tales From The Vienna Woods (Johann Strauss/Bert Kaempfert/Herbert Rehbein)
  15. Happy Whistler (Bert Kaempfert)
  16. Prager Polka (Bert Kaempfert/Herbert Rehbein)

Trumpet solos by Manfred “Fred” Moch

1 – 12 issued as Decca DL 4616 (mono) and Decca DL 74616 (stereo)
1 – 3, 5 and 7 – 12, 14 and 15 issued in Europe as Polydor LPHM 46 456 (mono) and Polydor SLPHM 237 656 (stereo)
1 issued on singles Decca 31812 and MCA 60095
2, 4, 6, 7, 8 and 11 issued as EP Decca DL 7-34320
13 and 16 archival tracks unreleased at time of recording

This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is magicmusiceu.jpg

Dreaming of distant lands? Pining for parts unknown? Close your eyes and your dreams come true in this new, exciting album by Bert Kaempfert and his orchestra…A musical voyage you will long remember. Souvenirs in song from the four corners of the earth. And you’ve never even left home. This is your special gift of magic from a master musician – Bert Kaempfert.

This beautiful Kaempfert travelogue traverses the world, hopping from various ports in Asia to parts of Latin America and jetting off to locales in Europe, with stops in America along the way.

While Kaempfert explores Russian music like “Midnight in Moscow” (a.k.a. “Moscow Nights”), the Argentinian tango “La Cumparsita” and the Jewish folk song “Hava Nagila,” he leaves the door open for a number of American jazz standards like “Star Dust” (a.k.a. “Stardust”) and “Autumn Leaves.” 

The album has a pleasant diversity about it, exploring the world’s variety of dance steps. But it is solidly pulled together by Kaempfert’s distinctive hand. Fred Moch’s trumpet is featured on “On a Little Street in Singapore,” “Hava Nagila” and “Monte Carlo,” on which he is also credited as co-writer.

In addition to “Monte Carlo,” Kaempfert contributes the cheeky mash-up “Mambossa,” the polka “Swissy Missy” (with Herbert Rehbein) and “Moon Over Naples,” the album’s sole single release.

Released in April 1965, The Magic Music Of Far Away Places did not hit the charts until September of that year – two months after Kaempfert’s follow-up, Three O’Clock In The Morning, was released and one month after the record’s single, “Moon Over Naples,” peaked on the charts.

Still, the album reached number 27 on the charts and became one of Kaempfert’s best-known and most popular records.

Bonus Tracks

With the addition of these four bonus tracks, this presentation of The Magic Music Of Far Away Places now stands as the most comprehensive version yet issued.

The original European LP version of The Magic Music swapped out the American LP’s tracks “Mambossa” and “Monte Carlo” for “Tales From The Vienna Woods” and “Happy Whistler” (sometimes listed as “Happy Whistler’s”). All of these were recorded during the same sessions.

The 1997 Taragon CD issue of The Magic Music Of Far Away Places was the first to include “Mambossa,” “Tales From The Vienna Woods” and “Happy Whistler” in one place. But that CD somehow swapped out the LP’s version of “Monte Carlo” for a far-more mechanical alternate version of the tune.

(The other bonus tracks on that CD, “Latin Strings” and “Sucu Sucu,” were moved here to where they belong: as part of the bonus tracks to That Latin Feeling.)

The Taragon label ended up issuing The Magic Music‘s original version of “Monte Carlo” as a “bonus track” to their 1999 Kaempfert CD Bye Bye Blues. Here, both versions of “Monte Carlo” are presented, with the LP version in the place it belongs.